The Faculty of Law, University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus came into existence in September, 1960 under the Deanship of Professor G. M. Johnson. The emergence of the Faculty represented a unique landmark in the history of legal education in Nigeria, since it was the first Law Faculty to be established in the country. The Faculty has produced over 10,000 law graduates and in the 50 years of its existence, and scores of postgraduates many of who have attained eminent positions in industry, institutions of higher learning, the judiciary and the legal profession.

In the course of its history, the Faculty has had the privilege of enjoying the services of eminent law scholars that shaped the Faculty to what it is today. They include: Prof. C. O. Okonkwo (SAN), Prof. Gius Ezejiofor (SAN) (Late), Prof. E. I. Nwogugu, Prof. D. I. O. Ewelukwa, Prof. B. O. Nwabueze, Prof. Ogwurike, Prof. C. U. Ilegbune, and a host of others.
In 1986, the Faculty attained the twenty-fifth year of its existence and this was commemorated with Silver Jubilee activities between the 3rd – 6th May, 1988. And in 2004, the Faculty organized its maiden Alumni Home-Coming, during which the Faculty Building and Moot Court Theatre fund was launched. Today, we are happy to say that the Faculty has a befitting complex, comprising the Library, ICT Hall, Moot Court, and Lecturers’ offices. In addition, the Coscharis Lecture Theatre has been upgraded and comprises six Lecture Halls. In effect, the Faculty has a total of seven Lecture Halls. The upgraded Lecture theatre was commissioned by the Governor of Enugu State, His Excellency, Barr. Sullivan Chime (an alumnus of the Faculty) on March 26, 2010. The main Faculty of Law Building is at an advanced stage of construction. Preparations are in top gear for the celebration of the Faculty’s Golden Jubilee to mark its fifty years of existence.